Just Thoughts

Will 2013 be the Year for a Triple Crown Winner?

So the world of thoroughbred racing has had a 35 year drought when it comes to a Triple Crown Winner or has it really? Since the dawn of the new millennium, there have been four horses that immediately come to mind, that for some reason or another, were deprived of the title but certainly were worthy of its accolades.

The first Triple Crown winner of this millennium should have been in 2001 when Point Given showed up on the scene. The talented Dam Sire of my mare, Point Given went 2 for 3 and whose Sire, Thunder Gulch, captured 2 legs of the Triple Crown as well. The talent definitely runs deep in the family, so perhaps a grandson can redeem his lineage? They say you can’t breed a Triple Crown Winner- they simply show up. We shall see.

Point Given’s win in the Preakness and his dominating performance in the Belmont further solidified the notion that Derby Day 2001 was definitely a fluke. Not only did Point Given win 2 legs of the Triple Crown, but he came back and won the Haskell and the Travers on his way to Horse of the Year. Not every horse gets inducted into Horse Racing’s Hall of Fame either so extra credit here please! And no other horse in history has ever won (4) 1 million dollar races in a row. Do I hear hand clapping???

The second Triple Crown winner should have been the fun-loving, the little horse with  heart, Smarty Jones in 2004. His loss to Birdstone was a crime, but everyone knew that day who the Real Winner should have been, even Mrs. Whitney.

The third Triple Crown winner should have been in 2008 where the impressive and athletic Big Brown could have blown the other horses away in the Belmont, but didn’t.

And finally last year, we wanted ANOTHER. I’ll Have Another would have taken the Belmont given his racing style but came up lame prior to the race.

So you see, at the very least as breeders, we should be able to deliver to the country a Triple Crown Winner every 4 years?

So will 2013 be the year we get to celebrate a Triple Crown winner or is 2013 the year that the Triple Crown winner is produced which means he will be on the scene in 2016. You be the judge……

No Comments

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: